I Don't Know Which Book to Buy!! HELP!

4 replies [Last post]
victoriae350's picture
victoriae350
Offline
Supreme Viking Champion
Joined: 09/22/2014

I've been on a book buying spree. I bought these books this past weekend:

 

Waiting for them to arrive! They're this week, I think!!! :D

 

BUT...

 

 

I have just enough money to get another book, and i can't decide which one to buy.

 

 

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person's memories – of parents, children, love, life, and self – are lost. Unless they have been written.
 
In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn't written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.
 
But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

 

The stunning conclusion to Rae Carson’s New York Times–bestselling Gold Seer trilogy, which Publishers Weekly in a starred review called “Simply terrific.” A historical fantasy brimming with magic, romance, and adventure—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah Maas, and Westworld.
 
Leah Westfall, her fiancé Jefferson, and her friends have become rich in the California Territory, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense precious gold. But their fortune has made them a target, and when a dangerous billionaire sets out to destroy them, Lee and her friends decide they’ve had enough—they will fight back with all their power and talents. Lee’s magic is continuing to strengthen and grow, but someone is on to her—someone who might have a bit of magic herself. The stakes are higher than ever as Lee and her friends hatch a daring scheme that could alter the California landscape forever. With a distinctive young heroine and a unique interpretation of American history, Into the Bright Unknown strikes a rich vein of romance, magic, and adventure, bringing the Gold Seer Trilogy to its epic conclusion. Includes a map and an author’s note.
 

Ya'll see my dilemna!?!? I don't know which one to buy. I've read the first two in Rae Carson's trilogy. But I don't feel a need to buy the third book. At the same time, i feel like I should finish the trilogy~

 

ON THE OTHER HAND...

 

The Forgetting is ridiculously intrigueing. Like, heck. How do you not fall in love with that idea!? 

 

But I don't know which one to buy. If anyoner has read either, or you think one idea is more interesting than the other, I'd appreciate any comments and feedback!

 

__________________

 

 

     

 

Art from Others

 

NOTABLE ORIGINAL CHARACTERS 
tumblr links

 

DRAGON AGE FRANCHISE

Rovena Cousland || Asiya || Arwen Lavellan || Imogen Trevelyan

 

 

Ailith Hawke (c Arrow)

 

ASSASSIN'S CREED: SYNDICATE

 

Rosie Catherine Chattaway (c Arrow)

 

HARRY POTTER

Amanda Bardsley [no picture available at this time]

MidnightSXN's picture
MidnightSXN
Offline
Berk's Power Player
Joined: 01/15/2017
*sneaks in*

Don't mind me. I'll just be over here tracking this thread to do my own research on those books you've chosen to see if I want to read them . . .

__________________

 

 

Welcome to Midnight's signature!

 

 

About me: I am fifteen, female, and quiet. I tend to stay out of drama, preferring to be an observer or a non-biased mediator. I am indeed Christian, so my beliefs may contradict yours, but don't let that stop you from connecting with me! As long as you are respectful to me, I will be the same. I can't stand hypocrisy, so if I am being a hypocrite, you are more than welcome to call me out on it. My real name and location are not and never will be your concern. I love to write, so if you would like some tips, or even an example of my (decent) writing, feel free to notify me. You can't find me on any social media (except Pinterest, but I use my real name, so that's off-limits), but I am on Quotev and Wattpad. For Quotev, I am ElectricUniverse, and on Wattpad, AuthorofYouth. I also enjoy reading and kayaking (yet we don't have any kayaks despite our close proximity to a lake) and hope to join the local rowing club. I go to a public school, but wish to be homeschooled. I like to collect things. Things being shiny rocks, feathers, and soda bottles. I have pets: Five hens that I absolutely adore and shower with love and mealworms on a daily basis. I also set out seeds for the birds and squirrels (odd, I know). I am not vegetarian or vegan, yet the only meats I can stand are chicken and pork chops. I listen to music, but mostly Christian, with a hint of Demi Lovato, Zayde Wolf, OneRepublic, Cold Play, The Score, and The Script. When I say hint, I mean a few songs. My favorite bands are NEEDTOBREATHE and For KING & COUNTRY. I still play Mario Kart. I love animals and know a lot about them. My favorite include barn owls, cheetahs, servals, wolves, leopards of all kinds, wildcats, chickens, crows, ravens, falcons, Australian shepherds, German shepherds, golden retrievers, porpoises of all kinds, ungulates of all kinds (especially caribou and elk), and chipmunks (we have one that lives in our backyard). Going back to my proclamation as a Christian: Need I remind you, I live by the Bible as best I can, so I guess you could classify me as "super religious" (which seems to be a bad thing?). Also, if you decide to put me down because of my religion, just remember that I will only receive more blessings when I get to Heaven. The more you hate, the more treasures I make. :)

 

Viking Name: MysticLunarPegasus

Friend Code: FoLFMD

 

Main Dragon: Lightning Storm the male titan skrill (hatchery dragon)

Other Dragons: 

 

SunFire the male sand wraith; he is my first dragon (for the account)

Toothless (though he's not really mine)

Levyna the female flame whipper

Alpha the male singetail

Guardian the male eruptodon

Nightstorm the male night terror

Cavalier the male razorwhip

Orchestra the female death song

Glacier Moon the male groncicle

Knight the male armorwing

Protector the male prickleboggle

Ghost Rider the male boneknapper

Mistletoe the female shivertooth

Einar the male triple stryke

Ecthelion the male thunderdrum

Corentine the female raincutter

 

 

Related image

 

Still Under Construction. Please Hold At The Moment. :)

 

 

victoriae350's picture
victoriae350
Offline
Supreme Viking Champion
Joined: 09/22/2014
..

I can PM you more~

I read a lot this summer heehee~

zeebaneiba's picture
zeebaneiba
Offline
Berk's Power Player
Joined: 06/29/2016
Books are fam

I haven't read the second option, but I've read The Forgetting and it's a pretty enjoyable and unique book. 

 

My advice is this: buy The Forgetting, and get Into the Bright Unknown at a public library (if there is one near you). You said you don't feel a need to buy the last book in the triology, right? So don't buy it, and get the other one instead. It's always good to try new books :)

__________________

 

Banner by Foxtrot

 

 

 

Links

Artwork

Starlight (Night Fury)

Other

 

Character Profiles

Dragons are in purple, humans in orange.

 

Kaylee Fleming

Gunnar Anderson

 

 

Stormwind

 

Adoptables

 
 

"I was born here, in the place that would come to be called the old west. But to my kind, the land was ageless.

 It had no beginning and no end- no boundary between earth and sky.

Like the wind in the buffalo grass, we belonged here.

We would always belong here."

-Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron

 

 

"...if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world..."

- Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, 'The Little Prince"

 

 

 

 

 

victoriae350's picture
victoriae350
Offline
Supreme Viking Champion
Joined: 09/22/2014
..

Not neecessary "need to not buy it." More like I don't know if i wanna finish the trilogy yet! :)